My Life With the Birds

December 19, 2014


Most days I feel like I want to do everything, learn everything, and basically experience everything. What do I want to be when I grow up? Everything. And my life is probably more than half way over. Now what? Easy. Do more.

A few days ago I had the pleasure of meeting a wonderful wild bird rehabilitation enthusiast. She was certainly the best health care provider I have met. I found myself wishing she was my health care provider. A little pigeo with a broken leg brought me to her doorstep and I immediately knew I was standing in front of someone very special. She showed me a tumor she took out of another rock pigeon’s wing and I dared not wench with yuck in front of her. But she was certainly ok if I did.

It got me to thinking about my own frailities. Among the largest of my patholigies is the fear of anything medical. And with little bird friends coming to me for various reasons (orphans, broken legs and wings, and generally needing a good meal) I think it high time to look deeper. Look deeper. Now isn’t that a mouthful.

I have been practicing Transendental Meditation now. It is a strangly successful practice that seems to have opened up space in my time managemnt calendar. Still the idea of 20 minutes seemed a bit daunting. I decided a few days ago to go with 10 minutes for now. I certainly hope this is not a TM cardinal sin. Even if it is, I’m still doing it this way until something breaks and I no longer do it this way. As is the plan with most of my life. Including my “five year plan”.

For my little bird friends I have decided to knit a few adorable nests. Here is the pattern. Don’t take it too seriously and adjust however you need to.
Needle size: anything US 5 to US9
Use two strands of easy to wash yarn
CO 54 sts
Knit until you have 3 to 4 inches.
Purl one row.
Begin Decrease:
Row 1: *K7, k2tog* to end.
Row 2: *K6, k2tog* to end.
Row 3: *K5, k2tog* to end.
Row 4: *K4, k2tog* to end.
Row 5: *K3, k2tog* to end.
Thread yarn with darning needle and run through stitches.
Close.

Leave a Reply

